Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3
James City County Oral History Collection
Collection
Identifier: MS 00241
Scope and Contents
The James City County Oral History Collection holds two copies of transcripts and one corresponding cassette tapes of the Oral History Project directed by Robinette Fitzsimmon of the James City County Historical Commission. The collections includes interviews of residents of James City County, the City of Williamsburg, and York County, Virginia. Topics range from education to farming to Eastern State Hospital. Time periods covered begin with family memories from the Revolutionary War to...
Dates:
1983-1986; Majority of material found in 1984
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
William H. E. Morecock Papers
Collection
Identifier: MS 00110
Scope and Contents
Civil War correspondence, passes and orders relating to 1st Lieutenant William H.E. Morecock of the 32nd Virginia Volunteer Regiment. Legal documents of William H. E. Morecock, mostly concerning the lawsuit in Williamsburg and James City County, McCandlish vs Warburton, during 1851 to 1853. Correspondence and financial records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary while William H.E. Morecock was Secretary of the Board, 1877-1890.
Dates:
1850-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Virginia Counties Collection
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents
Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.
Dates:
1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center